Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

For Goodness Sake – Get Dressed Already!

on May 8, 2014

No one likes to be caught naked (or underdressed for that matter) – and the same holds true for your salad greens.

While it may seem convenient grab a bottle off the supermarket shelf, let me offer that the investment of a few minutes over the weekend can result in a wealth of dressings to delight all sorts of palates – and greens.  I tend to like robust dressings largely because I tend to like greens that can support them – arugula, watercress, spinach, baby kale, etc.  Angharad leans this way also, but Iseult continues to run in the “make mine Ranch on romaine or ice berg, thankyouverymuchalready.”  I’m not putting down ranch dressing or romaine or ice berg lettuces either – and these dressings will work fine there also, but a little will tend to go a long way.

Wasabi Lime Dressing

  • 1 tube wasabi paste
  • 3-4 Tbsp. lime juice
  • ¼ cup roasted peanut oil
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt

I throw all the ingredients in a mason jar, shake the daylights out of it, and voila, something wildly pungent and sinus clearing!  This is my version of Nigella Lawson’s dressing from her cookbook, “Nigella Express”.  I use a roasted peanut oil from Loriva which has a very dominant flavor; to balance it, I used an entire tube of wasabi paste and plenty of lime.  This is really going to come down to a matter of taste.  If you use regular peanut oil (or even another mild oil – and I will tell you right now that olive oil is not a good choice), then you can reduce the wasabi and lime.  Play around with it until you hit the sweet spot with your taste buds.

Dijon Vinaigrette

  • 2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 6 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice (freshly squeezed)
  • 2 tsp. white wine vinegar
  • 3 large garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt

Add the Dijon, olive oil, lemon juice and vinegar to a canning jar or dressing cruet; make a paste of the garlic and salt; then add to the dressing ingredients.  Shake to combine.

This is my version of Hugh Acheson’s dressing for his Shaved Brussels Sprouts Salad (from his cookbook, A New Turn in the South).  We like this dressing so much that I’ve taken to making a larger quantity and using it on a lot of salads, most recently my BST Salad (Bacon, Spinach & Tomato).  Let me also add that I’m completely addicted to the Brussels Sprouts Salad and have made it a fair number of times already.

Go-To Lemon Vinaigrette

  • ⅓ cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 5 – 6 grinds black pepper

This one really is my go-to dressing and I always have it on hand.  One of the things I do quite frequently is buy a bag of “angel hair coleslaw” (sometimes I’m too busy to finely shred cabbage), add a shaved sweet onion (and maybe a shaved red bell pepper) and toss it with about ¼ – ⅓ cup of this dressing.  It makes a killer slaw for fish tacos or pork tacos or eating it straight from the bowl.

[Edited to add – I also make this with lime (use an equally substituted amount instead of lemon juice) and I actually prefer to make the slaw with the lime version.]

Green Apple Vinaigrette

  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice (extra delicious if you can make with Meyer lemons)
  • 2 Tbsp. finely minced shallot
  • 5 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup finely minced Granny Smith apple
  • ½ tsp. fleur-de-sel or fine sea salt

This is my version of a recipe from Epicurious for “Walnut Chicken Salad with Green Apple Vinaigrette”.   I love this salad and the dressing.  It’s tart and tangy and fresh.  It doesn’t keep particularly well  long periods (the apple takes on an unpleasant, mushy texture), so plan to use it within a couple days – and really, doesn’t take very long to make.

So now  you have some lovely dressings for your greens which can be shaken up in no time.   Your greens (and your family) will thank you.

(Note – I use my canning jars for everything but canning (haven’t acquired that super power yet).  One of the coolest things you can now buy are plastic lids for your jars – and I really like this for storing my dressings, etc.) 

 

9 responses to “For Goodness Sake – Get Dressed Already!

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve,
    Would you send me some vinaigrette?

    • Maeve says:

      That stuff looks so slimy. I’m not sure dressing will help. 😦

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Apologizing for the repeat but, it’s not lik we can go to the store.

        To add to that, no pockets in our fur coats to carry money.

      • Maeve says:

        That cub is just so cute! If Iseult had seen that in our grocery store, I think we’d have ended up with a new roommate 🙂

  2. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, Wow, you’re quick! These all look so good and I’m looking forward to trying them. I’m going to add a link to this in the comments of my salad dressing post so others can find their way here too.

    Thanks so much!

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

