Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I’m All Bleary-Eyed, But It Was Totally Worth It

on April 16, 2014

Soooo I stayed up all night reading Patricia Brigg’s newest Mercy Thompson novel, Night Broken.

So Absolutely Freakin’ Good!

If you don’t read her stuff – start now.  Go to the beginning and read them all the way through.  Read them in order.  And don’t skip the Alpha & Omega books, either.  You need those interspersed with the Mercy Thompson books, along with the various short stories.  To help you out (because I’m just a giving kind of chick), I have all of them listed in order, including the short stories which, by the way, will be coming out in a complete collection this fall called “Shifting Shadows”.

Anyhoo….here’s the complete list in reading order so far.  Check out Patricia Briggs’ website for more details.

  • Moon Called – Mercy Thompson #1
  • “Alpha and Omega” (short story in the anthology On the Prowl – Alpha & Omega #.5 sort of)
  • Cry Wolf Alpha & Omega #1
  • “Seeing Eye” (short story from the anthology Strange Brew – Alpha & Omega 1.5)
  • Hunting Ground– Alpha & Omega #2
  • “Star of David” (a Mercy-verse short story in the anthology, Wolfsbane and Mistletoe)
  • Blood Bound– Mercy Thompson #2
  • Iron Kissed– Mercy Thompson #3
  • Bone Crossed– Mercy Thompson #4
  • Silver Borne– Mercy Thompson #5
  • River Marked– Mercy Thompson#6
  • Fair Game– Alpha & Omega #3
  • “Fairy Gifts” (a Mercy-verse short story in the anthology Naked City)
  • “In Red, With Pearls” (a Mercy-verse short story from the anthology Down these Strange Streets)
  • Frost Burned– Mercy Thompson #7
  • Night Broken – Mercy Thompson #8

There’s also a graphic novel, Homecoming, which I understand is sort of a prequel to the series. I don’t have it, but soon – very soon.

So what am I going to read now that I’m done with Mercy?  Well, Jim Butcher has a new book coming out – Dresden One Thousand or something.  Generally I’m compelled to read through an entire series to catch myself up – so this will be like 1001st time for Storm Front, I guess.  On the other hand, I could just go back to White Night.  Maybe.

Sarah Hoyt’s Musketeer Series is finally coming to digital (I think) – but do I have the right reader?  (Watch for upcoming whine about why I need an iPad now that my Nook is failing.  Bring crackers and cheese).

I need to catch up on Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Mysteries, AND C. S. Harris’s Sebastian St. Cyr Series.  There’s more, but let’s just stop here.

So many books.  So little time.

 


7 responses to “I’m All Bleary-Eyed, But It Was Totally Worth It

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, I’m so fconfused. Your last post was about getting rid of books and, now, this one is about getting more.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Fuzzie – THOSE were cookbooks (no, I’m not going to take a pic of them all, you’re just going to have to trust me here that the situation is completely and utterly out of control).

      HERE we’re talking actual reading books – novels – you know. Besides, I buy many of them digitally, mostly because I have a real estate issue WRT housing more paper. I actually like to hold paper – but I can hold more digital files. Except now my lo-tech-first-generation-NOOK is failing and I’m starting to get extremely anxious. What am I supposed to do without having some 500+ books immediately available to me at any moment’s notice???? Good Lord – I think I just brought on a hot flash at the prospect!

  2. hearthie says:

    YAY. You read them too????? Yay!

  3. hearthie says:

    Hm. I see your code-name for the daughter is Angharad. Are you by chance a Robin McKinley fan too?

Leave a Reply

