Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Different Year; Same Dilemma

on April 15, 2014

Do I watch it or don’t I watch it?

“It” would be “The Passion of the Christ”.  For the last I-don’t-know-how-many years I’ve been promising myself that I would watch it on Good Friday before going to Mass.

Haven’t managed it yet.

I have the movie and I have the time.  I just don’t think I have the stomach.  As a cradle Catholic, I’m well aware of the facts surrounding Christ’s death.  Have watched it played out at more Friday Night Stations of the Cross than I can count.  But I can’t quite bring myself to watch the reality of that death.  And I feel badly about that.  I feel badly that I can’t bring myself to watch something I know.

Maybe this year I will.

[Edited to add – so, not this year.  At least not this Good Friday.  But there’s still time.  Easter technically lasts until Pentecost.]

12 responses to “Different Year; Same Dilemma

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, in a word, DON’T. While I haven’t seen it, I took a trusted source at his word while it was in the theaters. “Bring a barf bag.” There is a reason that the Roman Empire was so successful.

  2. Stingray says:

    I promise myself every year that I will watch this, too. A couple of years ago I did. It was incredibly difficult and then afterward, I felt renewed. This stayed with me the whole next day. I can’t explain it, but there it is.

    I was just thinking about this again last night. That I should really watch it this year.

    • Maeve says:

      I may just do it this year Stingray. Angharad has seen it – they showed it at school during theology class – think she was a Sophomore in HS; Iseult hasn’t see it and is on the fence. Maybe the thee of us should watch it together on Friday. I’m really going to think about it; I appreciate the input – thank you! 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    I’m asking myself the same question. I’m going to show my kids a children’s version, but the adult one is so hard to watch.

    • Maeve says:

      Jenny, I know this is going to sound stupid as all get out, but I actually feel as though I’m cheating by not watching it – not “the movie” per se, but a real representation of that death. I feel like such a wuss in a way – don’t get me wrong, this is not from any external influence. I feel that way and every year I think to myself “quite the little coward you are there, Maevey”.

  4. Bike Bubba says:

    I can see two arguments here; first that if we desire to serve Him, it can help to have a picture of how He suffered for us. The second argument acknowledges the first, but notes simply that God’s provided a pretty graphic picture in His Word. We don’t need a movie.

    I tend towards the second argument, but know and respect many people who have seen the movie under the first. Have a blessed Easter!

    • Maeve says:

      Thanks Mr Bubba – I’d rather watch it for some reason other than I feel weak for NOT watching it – you know what I mean?

      And a very Blessed Easter to you and yours 🙂

  5. hearthie says:

    I don’t see any reason why you should feel like you have to watch it. But … I sort of feel the same way. We have the movie and I always intend to watch it (again) during Passion Week, and I never do.

    I saw it the first time in the theater… I was very very pregnant and spent a lot of time staring at the floor instead of the screen and used a lot of kleenex. But I figured if I could sit through Return of the King with all those orcs, I could sit through the Passion.

    It’s intense, and it hits everyone in different ways.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m not sure why it’s so difficult for me. I guess I just balk at that unvarnished truth of the brutality we humans will inflict upon each other. I “know” what we’re capable of, but there’s that resistance to watch. I’m rarely so conflicted.

Leave a Reply

