Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I Finally Decide to Tackle Something I Really Don’t Want to Deal With

on April 11, 2014

After much (and I do mean MUCH) thought, I’ve decided to cull the herd.

No, I’m not doing away with one of my children (although if you’d asked me about it last night, I might not have been so definitive in the denial).

I’m reducing the number of cookbooks and cooking magazines which are currently overrunning my house (when they’re not causing shelves to cave in).  This is NOT an exaggeration – I only wish!

Thing is, I’m not exactly sure what to do with them; I’ve thought about making (another) donation to the library, but now, I’m considering just giving them away to new homes.  Soooo, if there’s any interest, I’ll be happy to list the publications here (when I get through them all) and if you see one (or many) you want, you can shoot me an e-mail and I’ll ship it/them to you.

Thoughts?

(Because if there’s no real interest, I’ll just ship the whole lot to the library)


14 responses to “I Finally Decide to Tackle Something I Really Don’t Want to Deal With

  1. Jenny says:

    I like to check cookbooks out from the library and read through them for ideas. I have enough now though, thank you!

    • Maeve says:

      They’re my true weakness – I have like a million back issues of Cook’s Magazine, for example. But enough is enough! Need to move on and clear out the clutter that is distracting me. (I keep telling myself this is a good thing – hopefully I’ll be convinced)

  2. Ouida Gabriel says:

    It is a good idea to give some away. I don’t have a lot but the ones I have I love. I say list them because I’m itching to see if there are some my girls would like as well. My daughter (15 years) copies recipes by hand into a notebook. She loves to scan through them, especially the Depression Era cookbooks that included stories for people of that time. Make sure your own girls don’t want some of them first!

    • Maeve says:

      Welcome to my little sandbox Ouida. Yes – I’m having my daughters look through them. I’ll get started on the list and try to get posted by end of the month. I don’t think the library will keep the magazines, but some of them are really excellent. There are just too many – I’d post a picture, but I’m entire too ashamed…

  3. Mrs. C says:

    I did the same as you and got rid of all my cookbooks except for about 6-7. I mostly rely on the internet for recipes. It’s so much faster to look something up based on your ingredients and to also read reviews to get an idea if the recipe is a good one. The books I kept have some of our favorite recipes and they are nice for when there are those rare occasions when the computer isn’t working or the internet is down and you need to make something.

    Like your other commenter above, I still check out cookbooks from the library because I get a lot of joy just reading through them. I will also purchase a bunch for a quarter or two each when the library has a used book sale and re-donate them when I’ve read them.

    Good luck finding a home for them! The library is a good last resort for those you can’t give away.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, I recommend donating to charity. Looking for an appropriate video, I stumbled across this charmer but, it’s off topic.

  5. Bike Bubba says:

    Hearty “Amen” on having too many cookbooks. I’m personally thinking of getting a Kindle or Nook and putting our most used cookbooks on that–as well as some of the sewing e-books–simply to get some more space on the bookshelf I made for them. Plus, unlike a real cookbook, you can wipe glippety-glop-glup off a Kindle. Double win!

    (noteworthy; “The Kitchen Companion” appears to be free on ebook, and that’s probably the best cookbook I’ve got. It goes beyond recipes to the “why” of things.)

    • Maeve says:

      LOL – just so I’m straight on the up & up – it’s not that there won’t be plenty of them here, just that there won’t be a plethora. Plus I’m finding that I forget I have some and then they just take up real estate….. it’s a sad state and I’m still conflicted over it.

  6. taylor says:

    I recently spent a few weekends going through 5 years of Cooking light magazines. I tore out all the recipes that interested me, and then pinned them all to my Pinterest. Afterwards, I threw the magazines and the pages I tore out away. It was very cathartic.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m prepared to sound dumb as dirt here, but how did you pin the recipes you pulled out? Cos that could seriously help me!

      • taylor says:

        I googled Cooking Light and lo and behold they have every single recipe online! This weekend I am going to start ripping up the Food & Wine magazines! Perhaps there is a chance some of your favorite cookbook recipes are online too? I added a “Pin This” button to my task bar, but a lot of the actual recipes had their own “Pin This” buttons.

Leave a Reply

