Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Woe is Moi

on April 7, 2014

There are some indispensable people in my life: The Bug Guy and the A/C Guy rank up there near the top. And they merit this position in my hierarchy of social contacts for two reasons: Palmetto Bugs and Sweltering Heat.

I routinely (and by that I mean on a carved-in-stone regular basis) have my house doused in enough insecticide that I’m sure it’s going to start glowing and become visible from space. Why? Because despite it’s benign local name, a Palmetto Bug is a roach. Really. I’ve heard countless excuses for why they’re not actually roaches – to which I say BOLLOCKS! They’re disgusting and it is my great pleasure to see their miserable, filthy lives extinguished. But they’re not my problem today.

Today’s problem is borderline sweltering heat. It’s only 72F outside, but inside – inside it’s about 85 and my office (which is my sunroom) is higher. And the A/C unit is not working. Maybe it’s the thermostat. I don’t know. What I do know is that when the AC guy shows up, I’m going to be the happiest woman in the whole bloomin’ state!

(Fine, so maybe it’s not actually “swealtering”. Close enough.)


18 responses to “Woe is Moi

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    The A/C guy won’t come out to the cave, so, we have to employ different methods.

    • Maeve says:

      Hysterical. It made me think though – watching that video, you don’t really get a sense of just how huge they are. And the A/C guy did come and replace the motor and now I’m happily freezing in my house again (hormones, you know…)

  2. Jenny says:

    I keep a spray bottle of insecticide and use it liberally in the summertime too. I hate ants and spiders.

    • Maeve says:

      Me too Jenny. And one thing I switched up in the yard is I don’t use pinestraw anymore – but switched to a black mulch which apparently leads to less spiders (they seem to like the pinestraw). You know, if you plant mint it keeps ants away – on the other hand, it’s really aggressive and invasive, so you kind of have to pick your battle.

  3. Jenny says:

    I also bomb the playhouse and garage with one of those spider bombs every year.

    • Maeve says:

      I get this huge wasps too – I’m telling you I killed one the other day that was at least 2 inches long. Still shivering thinking about it 😦

      • Jenny says:

        We keep the wasp spray on top of the fridge, and I got rid of all our honeysuckle. I hate them, we’ve started getting hornets in our town. Last year for homeschooling, we pinned insects onto a board and I found a dead hornet on one of my walks. Very exciting. This summer we’re going to study birds.

      • Maeve says:

        I hate them too. And they’re so aggressive. From now until late October I’ll be almost pathologically scanning the outside of the house for signs of nests. Just horrible – and we always seem to get the nests forming right outside our front door. Lovely.

  4. Elspeth says:

    Those dang palmetto bugs always find their way into my garage. We’re considering getting a new garage door this summer.

    • Maeve says:

      Jenny that’s hysterical. You know, I’m less horrified about ants; we’ll, except fire ants and we have a horrible time getting rid of them .

  5. hearthie says:

    My bug guy uses something organic to kill the spiders. We get black & brown widows all ’round the house, I’m not okay with poisonous spiders where I can inadvertently wander into them.

    But I sort of want to know why you didn’t open the windows… is this a Southern thing? I open the windows every morning…

Leave a Reply

