Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

His & Hers

on March 31, 2014

It’s hard to divide up your household and remain dispassionate.  Not that I was ever all that dispassionate, but I had promised myself that there would be no outward evidence of inner turmoil.

I guess I’m doing OK with that.

Still, it’s a struggle to see things that marked milestones in your relationship leaving their places.   I’m finding that, in way, the memories are being packed up along with the items they accompanied.  A painting we bought my first visit to Charleston; a table and chairs we saved for so long to buy; pictures of us; the living room furniture we bought our first Christmas in this house.  Some things are leaving.  Some are just getting put away – maybe our daughters will want them some day.  But they have no place in my home anymore.  Now I just need him to hammer down a date to take away all of these things he wants.

Once, I thought that we could not have a home without him.    But that was fear talking – because just last night this house was brimming with love and laughter and optimism and hope .  It’s definitely a home and I’m not afraid any more.

 


10 responses to “His & Hers

  1. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, Continued prayers going up as you deal with this difficult month. Yes, your home is just as much a home as it ever was. Never doubt your ability as a mother to make it so. Things in this world are not always a reflection of the ideal, but you are doing right by putting the fear aside and allowing the house to be “brimming with love and laughter and optimism and hope.”

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I wish I could say something comforting. There is a counterpoint to your statement. Angrahad and Iseult live there with you. For that, it’s still home. Not to mention the ambitious canine.
    A silly old bear is rooting for you.

  3. Jenny says:

    You’re going to be okay. I wish I could be there with you to listen. Prayers.

  4. Bike Bubba says:

    Praying, and boy does this bring back memories of when my mom and dad went through this. Not fun, and hang in there.

  5. Elspeth says:

    I haven’t known exactly what I could or should say as I read this, Maeve. But you and your precious girls are in my prayers.

    It speaks volumes about your strength and faith, that your home is still brimming with love and laughter.

  6. Agapoula says:

    Okay, I think I understand.

    Maeve, my prayers are with you and your daughters.

    May God strengthen you through this. You have all my compassion, love and prayers.

Leave a Reply

