Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Happy National Potato Chip Day!

on March 14, 2014

I love potato chips; love to smoosh them on my sandwiches; love to crush them on top of my baked macaroni & cheese.  It’s so funny how particular folks are about the potato chip preferences.  Some really like the flavored variety; some the ridged; some the kettle cooked.  Me, I’m a Lays ™ girl – just the regular ones; nothing fancy, if you please.  And no, I can’t eat just one (so I generally don’t keep them in the house).

Anyhoo, to mark this august occasion, I thought I’d share one of my favorite things to make – Potato Chip Cookies (that’s right, cookies).  Don’t be put off because they sound weird. The potato chips add an interesting texture and flavor contract to what is essentially a shortbread-type cookie.  Try them before you pass judgment.

Before we proceed any further, we need to discuss the issue of the potato chip itself.  Think of it this way, the chip is the featured player in these cookies, so don’t use this recipe as an alternative to throwing out either stale chips or the greasy remains in the bottom of the bag.  Don’t use kettle chips or ridged chips (the texture is just too weird).  Don’t (for the love of Pete) use flavored chips – I actually shouldn’t have to mention that, but just in case, DON’T.  Don’t use lightly salted or “sea salted” or any other oddly salted chip.  Just open a fresh bag of regular chips (just like the ones I prefer) and whip up some magic.

Here we go – Potato Chip Cookies (slightly adapted from Paula Deen)

2 cups (4 sticks) butter, softened (I used salted)
1 cup granulated sugar
3 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 ½ cups coarsely crushed potato chips.

Heat the oven to 300˚F.

Cream together the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl.  Slowly blend in the vanilla, then the flour.  Add the crushed potato chips and mix well (I do this part with a wooden spoon or heavy-duty spatula because I think the beaters crush the chips too much).

Drop by rounded teaspoonful onto an ungreased baking sheet, about 2 inches apart.  Flatten them slightly with a fork (if you dip the fork in some water, it won’t stick to the cookie).  Bake for 18-20 minutes (you know your oven best, so adjust accordingly) or until there’s just a hint of brown around the edges.

Remove to a wire rack to cook.

At this point, the original recipe calls for you to sift some confectioner’s sugar over the tops of the cookies.  I don’t.  They’re plenty sweet and salty at the same time.  I have, however, toyed with the idea of drizzling them with some melted chocolate.  Hmmmm…maybe when Lent is over I’ll bake up a batch.

Bon Apetit Y’all

(My daughters can’t decide if they like these or not.  I find them disturbingly addictive.  You’ve been warned)

Note – the June/July 2012 issue of Cook’s Country also featured a Potato Chip recipe, but it included nuts and eggs, and reminded me more of a pecan sandy with some chips throw in and the recipe was a lot more involved.

 Now that I’m looking at that issue, I see some possibilities for next week’s menu – Grilled Asian Short Ribs with Cucumber Salad; Shrimp and Lemon Skewers with Jalapeno Dressing; Nebraska Beef Buns – on second thought, they all look delish and will take entirely too long for a weeknight meal.  But they hold some promise for the weekend.


5 responses to “Happy National Potato Chip Day!

  1. Mrs. C says:

    You are right on the money with smooshing chips into your sandwich. A sandwich without them can seem sorta dull without that crunchy salty goodness. My favorite chip, which I rarely buy, because I would eat them every day if they were in the house, are made locally. They are sliced a little thicker so they have a real satisfying crunch to them, fried in 100% lard, (how disgusting and divine at the same time!), and salted.

    That chip cookie recipe looks interesting….my girls may want to try that.

    • Maeve says:

      Mrs C those chips sound good. Maybe too good to bake into a cookie. LOL

      Not sure what age your girls are, but it’s fun to crush the chips and these mix up pretty easily.

      This is also kind of disgusting, but I’m not above making a potato chip sandwich – squishy white bread, butter (or PB) and potato chips. My daughters get this revolted look on their faces – meh!

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    There is someone I know who is blue and furry that would like to try some of these.
    COOOOOOKIE!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

