Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Best Steak Sandwich Ever (And how to cook the steak perfectly)

on March 13, 2014

Seriously EVER EVER EVER!   This fabulous Theater Steak with Mushrooms, Onions, and Grilled Bread is beyond sublime.  It’s also expensive and should not be wasted on children.

I made it for Mack as a huge Thank You (I’ve already discussed the importance of the personalized thank-you).  And what, exactly, did Mack do to warrant this sandwich?  He came over and fished a D.E.A.D. R.A.T. out of the pool skimmer basket.  This is all I’m going to say on the matter.

Stroll on over to The Kitchn  and check out this recipe.  Bookmark it.  Print it out.  Frame it.  Gild it.  Open a safe deposit box for it.  Someday you may need to say Thank You for acts of heroism.  Trust  me, this will do the job, particularly if you’re thanking someone with carnivoristic tendencies.  (I know that’s not a word, but it sounds right).

(Also, this recipe finally helped me learn to cook steak perfectly on the stovetop).


13 responses to “The Best Steak Sandwich Ever (And how to cook the steak perfectly)

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    You know how to say thank you! While I know you do like to steer away from controversy, how did we get to the point where there is such a difference in girl food and boy food? Stingray had a post months age titled “Man Food”.

  2. Maeve says:

    LOL Fuzzie – I’m going to need some new tags “man food”, “chick food”, “kid-friendly food”, “PMS food”, “menopause food”.

    I think there is something to the man/woman food distinction, but I’m not entirely sure why it exists. I also think it’s one of those value-neutral things, so have no idea why anyone would get their knickers in a twist over it. I do suspect, that it may be biology-driven in some cases – and again, that’s also value-neutral.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, while trying to stay positive, I had an idea that you may make use of. When you come up blank for material for your posts, why not recycle one or two of “Fuzzie’s Favorites”?
    I already know what to post to you for the 17th. 🙂

  4. Elspeth says:

    Looks delicious! I’ve gotta try this one, Maeve. Maybe tomorrow night even.

    • Maeve says:

      Elspeth, it was so good! I made it exactly as the recipe directed and it totally exceeded by expectations. I hope your family loves it too. 🙂

  5. Mrs. C says:

    Maeve, That recipe looks so good! Thanks for the link….I’m pretty sure this will end up on the dinner table soon. And thanks again for the tips on stove-top steak.

    • Maeve says:

      Hi Mrs. C – I do hope you try it and really, the technique for cooking the steak is just spot-on. No more “shoe leather” at our house LOL.

      • Mrs. C says:

        Ok, Maeve,

        We just finished this for dinner. First, I can’t thank you enough for explaining that stove top steak method. It worked perfectly! No more waiting for summer grilling to have good steak. Second, I made the sandwiches above. They are to die for…..so good.

        Already the single guys in my husbands office come to see what he has to eat every day for lunch. I often have to send in extra of my pan fried fish for one of them when I make it. If they see him assembling this sandwich tomorrow for lunch, I may just have to make enough for the whole crew!

        The only change I had to make was to use green peppers instead of onions because my husband hates them but it was still very good.

        Mrs. C

      • Maeve says:

        Hi Mrs. C,

        I’m so glad you liked this. After all the ranting and raving I did about how wonderful it was, I then started thinking – what if someone makes it and thinks, “meh”? LOL.

        The adjustment you made sounds great – that’s another fine aspect – you really can tweak it to suit personal preferences. I’m thinking that broiling some gruyere on the bread would be tasty too.

        Isn’t that method for steak just the best? I’ve now used it on several cuts (filet, sirloin, ribeye) and aside for adjusting the time based on thickness, it just comes out perfect every time.

        After I read your comment it had me thinking about how having a blog one share with others is sort of like talking over the back fence – you can share things that are going on with your family, talk about a new cooking technique or recipe, or recommend a good book. A nice feeling 🙂

      • Mrs. C says:

        I agree about the backyard fence thing. I’ve learned so much from other women willing to share and advise. I hope to return the favor to others. It is a nice feeling.

  6. […] New recipe, recommended by Maeve. Can’t wait to try […]

  7. […] I get to the menu, I must commend this recipe that Maeve shared and that we made Friday before last. I made the bread for it as well. It was a smashing hit, and […]

Leave a Reply

