Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Stuff I Love – Roasted Peanut Oil

on March 12, 2014
Roasted Peanut Oil (LOriva)

Reminds me of the oil that separates in natural peanut butter

I don’t deep fry and for the most part am not a “fried food” kind of person, but I do like to make stir-frys and I do sauté a lot.
This past Saturday at the grocery store I spotted Loriva Roasted Peanut Expeller Pressed Oil.

Now, I’m very fond of the Loriva family of products – I use the Sunflower oil in salad dressings and the Safflower oil is absolutely required for cooking steak stovetop.  I used this Roasted Peanut Oil in my stir-fry Monday night, and it added such a nice undertone to the dish. Now all I can think about is making another stir-fry so I can use that oil!

This is an aggressive oil, so I’d not recommend using it haphazardly.  And I’d be careful if using as a salad oil. It would probably work nice in a satay…hmmmmmm satay with peanut dipping sauce.  Is it dinner time yet?

(FYI – nobody from Loriva asked me to pimp their oil, but I  would with a straight face and no fingers crossed behind my back)

 

8 responses to “Stuff I Love – Roasted Peanut Oil

  1. Mrs. C says:

    I usually use sesame oil for stir frys but never thought of peanut oil. I’m intrigued by your safflower oil for steak on the stove top comment. I’ve never been able to make a good steak on the stove top. I like steak med-well done and it seems the outside is too black though by the time I get the middle done to my satisfaction. I usually use Canola. Why did you find safflower to be the best?

    • Maeve says:

      Hi Mrs. C,

      The safflower oil has a very mild taste and pretty high smoke point, so you can sear the outside and get a good crust. Here’s how I do my steak (and we tend to like ours on the med-rare side). I heat the pan and oil until it shimmers on a high heat; I keep the temp on high for the first couple minutes because once the meat hits the oil, the temperature drops. After a couple minutes, I turn it down a few degrees – want to keep hot but not smoking.

      I make sure the meat is dry (paper-towel works fine) and sprinkle with kosher salt & cracked pepper; put the seasoned side down and LEAVE IT ALONE for 4 minutes; I season the exposed side then flip and LEAVE IT ALONE for 4 more minutes.

      What you can do next to cook the meat a bit more, is throw it into a 400F oven (provided your pan is ovenproof); let it finish for a couple minutes. Then pull it out and let it rest on a cutting board for 10 minutes – I always give my meat a 10 minute rest with a foil tent.

      I think this works well for meat that’s about 1.5 inches thick. One other thing that helps is to take the chill off the meat- so pull out of the fridge maybe 30 minutes before cooking.

      I hope this helps you. It’s only recently that I’ve managed to get meat cooked consistently the way we want it. I cooked flatiron steak last night and it came out so good – the meat was pretty thick so I did 6 minutes on each side and a 10 minute rest – gave me time to fix the veggies.

      • Mrs. C says:

        Maeve,

        Thanks so much, I’m going to try this! Maybe I’ll finally master stove top steak. My husband makes a delicious steak on the grill when the weather is nice but in the winter, I just can’t get it quite right. It’s edible but not anything to write home about. Thanks again!

      • Maeve says:

        Mrs. C,

        FWIW, I can’t cook a hamburger to save my life – much like my mother, I produce a respectable facsimile of a hockey puck.

        And really, it’s only in the last couple months that I got the stovetop steak past edible to YUM; actually, it was a recipe on all-time favorite site, The Kitchn which did it for me – it was a recipe for these open-faced steak & onion sandwiches (let me see if I can find the link and I’ll post it) – absolutely one of the most delicious things I’ve ever made. EVER.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I couldn’t find anything that related to peanut oil but…

    My collegue really likes peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

