Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Friday Dilemma Plus Salad Recipe

on March 7, 2014

Sooooo, it’s Friday and it’s Lent. I like both and I like the combination. However, it also means that I have to put a little more effort into thinking about what to cook for dinner.

Usually that’s not a particularly difficult stretch for me, but this year Iseult gave up dairy and Angharad gave up wheat, and I’m doing a more generic fast. Methinks salads shall feature prominently this year.

And speaking of salads, I made a terrific one from Hugh Acheson’s “A New Turn in the South” – Shaved Brussels Spouts Salad with Dijon Vinaigrette. Here’s the recipe with my little notes…Hugh Acheson's Cookbook

Toss the following in a salad bowl:

1 quart Brussels sprouts, thinly shaved (mandolin is great for this)
1 cup toasted pecan halves (I used walnuts)
1 cup shaved Romano or Parmesan Cheese (I forgot it)
1/2 cup fresh flat leaf parsley (I just tore mine)

Dijon Vinaigrette:

1 tsp. Dijon mustard
3 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil (I used this one so tasty)
1 Tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice (I had a Meyer Lemon – YUM)
1 tsp. sherry vinegar (I only had white wine vinegar)
kosher salt  & black pepper (so, I made a paste of a garlic clove and 1/2 tsp salt and added it also)  1 Tbsp. chopped flat leaf parsley (I forgot about it)

Shake it all up in  a jar and you’re done!

 

Don’t let your predisposition to Brussels sprouts keep you from trying this – it’s really tasty and an entirely different species from the over-boiled, nasty-tasting stuff your mother made you eat.

 

4 responses to “The Friday Dilemma Plus Salad Recipe

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, cooking related video. You did mention Brussels Sprouts, no?

  2. donalgraeme says:

    Don’t let your predisposition to Brussels sprouts keep you from trying this – it’s really tasty and an entirely different species from the over-boiled, nasty-tasting stuff your mother made you eat

    Yeah, like I’m going to fall for that….

    • Maeve says:

      No – really it was sooo good I made it again Saturday night. And then I fought with Angharad to have the last of it. Only Iseult put up a stink – but then she’s 14 and goes through phases of “I hate everything” (now would be one of those times – I just ignore it and carry on – it will pass). Also, since Trader Joe’s carries packages of shredded Brussels sprouts, it’s even easier. Yum – just YUM! Try it one time and tell me if you don’t love it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

