Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Helping you to put some “Fat”in your “Tuesday”

on March 4, 2014
20140304-104350.jpg

It’s everything the title promises and more!

By some happy coincidence, today is not only Shrove Tuesday, but also  National Pound Cake Day. 
On the off-chance that you haven’t found a way to put some “Gras” in your “Mardi”, let me offer you this – Cream Cheese Pound Cake from “Rosie’s All-Butter, Fresh Cream, Sugar-Packed Baking Book.”  Much like Rosie’s SIL, Laura, you will be tempted to devour the whole thing yourself (which would sort of be taking things from “Gras” to “Glutton” – but nobody would blame you).  I’ve made one teeny tweak, which I will note below.   Truly, this is one of the most delectable pound cakes you will ever taste.

3 cups cake flour (no substitutes)
1 ½ cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temp (yes, I used the unsalted)
1 8oz package cream cheese, at room temp (and don’t be tempted to use the low-fat stuff)
2 cups granulated sugar
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. almond extract (I added this)
6 large eggs at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325˚F; lightly grease a 10-inch tube pan with butter or shortening.

Sift the cake flour into a small bowl and set aside (don’t skip this step).

Cream the butter, cream cheese, sugar, vanilla & almond extracts on medium-high speed until light and fluffy (about 2 minutes).  Stop the mixer and scrape down the bowl a couple of times to make sure you get everything combined (you don’t want any lingering graininess (is that even a word) because it will ruin the texture).

Add the eggs one at a time and mix on medium speed after each one, for about 10 seconds; make sure to scrape the bowl before adding the next egg.  Once all the eggs are added, mix for another 30 seconds.

I’m going to interject a note about the whole scraping down the bowl bit.  It’s really essential, especially if your mixer, like mine, has a groove at the bottom of the bowl where things can get stuck.  Not only should the sides be scraped, but also the beater (paddle attachment) and the bottom of the bowl.  If you do this, you can avoid having chunks of unincorporated butter/sugar in your cake batter.

Back to the recipe…

Stir the cake flour gently into the creamed mixture with a spatula.  Then, mix again, on low speed for about 5 seconds; scrape that bowl again and blend until the batter is smooth, another 5 to 10 seconds (see my note about scraping the bowl).

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake the cake in the center of your oven (adjust the rack if necessary) until golden brown and firm to the touch – about 1 hour 35 minutes (use a wooden skewer to test – should come out dry).

Cool the cake completely in the pan before unmoulding.

This cake is absolutely sublime, but it’s not the only excellent pound cake recipe in this cookbook.  There’s an awesome Almond Pound Cake, and Poppy Seed Pound Cake (which I have  tweaked by eliminating the poppy seeds and substituting  some Hershey’s Special Dark ™ cocoa powder for an equal amount of flour to create an illegally-good chocolate pound cake).  I guess I’m trying to say that taking the time to hunt down a copy of this cookbook will be well worth the effort.

Happy Baking, Bon Apetit, and a Blessed Lent to you all.
 
 
 


15 responses to “Helping you to put some “Fat”in your “Tuesday”

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    High calorie, high fat, and chocolatey goodness??? My little round ears are up and I’m salivating.

    • Maeve says:

      I’m kind of salivating too – but as I begin (some sort of) a fast tomorrow, I’m absolutely, positively NOT going to bake anything today. No Siree – it’s financial reports all day long and I’m going to appreciate them!

    • Bike Bubba says:

      Get the cookbook. Or, if a gal really loves you, she’ll make you a plateful of “chocolate orgasms” from that cookbook. (brownie topped with hot fudge and berries)

      • Maeve says:

        LOL – I’ve made those too (I’ve made nearly everything in that book) – and they’re all they claim to be 🙂

  2. Elspeth says:

    You look at this site every day just like we do, don’t you?

    http://www.daysoftheyear.com/days/poundcake-day/

    My little ones get every morning and ask what the random holiday is today, 😉 .

    • Maeve says:

      I didn’t know about that, but thanks for the link; now I’ve got something new to check out LOL.

      There’s this site “the nibble” which lists all the monthly food holidays; I just find it so entertaining.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Gike Bubba, a brownie topped with hot fudge and berries????
    Stop torturing single boy bears.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, yes, we are! And letting out the silly side is a good thing.

    • Maeve says:

      I agree. As you may have noticed, I do not, for the most part, engage in particularly serious discussion here in my sandbox. That is rather deliberate on my part. Occasionally I do have something less frivolous to relate, but I would rather this be a lighthearted friendly place. (plus I do try to keep any tantrums or melt-downs to a minimum – seems only fair). 🙂

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Maeve, I have to admit that I’ll be going through comment withdrawal. SSM has closed comments for Lent on her blog. I’d like to post a crying bear video link but, I can’t. 😦

      • Maeve says:

        Oh Fuzzie – I don’t know how to make the withdrawal symptoms get any easier. Maybe stroll over to Elspeth’s place – she has some good discussions and she’s leaving her comments open (at least for now). I’ll still be posting, but I’m trying to decide what is suitable for Lent – I don’t want to be over the top silly, but I’m also trying to maintain a fairly lighthearted attitude over here. Maybe I need to post about that – it’s a bit of a dilemma for me.

        And if you do have a video of a crying bear, do share!

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, silly might be a good thing. There’s a lot of serious out there. Anyway, per your request, how I seem to feel now

Leave a Reply

