Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I’m in Reader Purgatory

on February 25, 2014

Why Purgatory?  Well, you see, patience is a virtue and I’m not all that patient, so the time spent waiting seems so infinitely long.  In short, purgatory (at least for me).

I hate waiting for new releases.  I get all twitchy and anxious.   I keep checking to see if my Nook somehow downloaded a new release just a few seconds early , which never happens (why yes, this does strike me like the behavior of girl who has just met new guy… always checking the cell phone – will he call?  Won’t he?  Why doesn’t he?  You get the picture).

One way I manage to cope is by rereading the entire backlist of each series, so that I finish right about the time the new release hits (at the moment, I’m all over the Mercy Thompson series to that I can dive right into Night Broken).  Not sure how I’m going to manage with Dresden, and actually have time to, you know, work, that is.  And I’m going to need to get started on Katherine Kurtz’s stuff no later than October.

One pet peeve though…why do they have to release on Tuesday?  Why can’t they release at 1201 Saturday ?  That way I can just stay up all night and read until I’m done.  None of this having to go to bed because work the next day nonsense.  What am I supposed to do, really?  Get the new release and WAIT until the weekend?  Read only in bit and pieces for four whole days?  Rubbish! 

Anyway, here’s what’s on my preorder list at the moment:

Patricia Briggs                    Night Broken                     11 March 14
Jim Butcher                        Skin Game                          27 May 14
Kevin Hearne                     Shattered                            17 June 14
Ilona Andrews                   Magic Breaks                     29 July 14
Hannah Jayne                    Under the Final Moon     05 August 14
Kat Richardson                  Revenant                            05 August 14
Brian Herbert                     Hellhole Inferno               12 August 14
Katherine Kurtz                  The King’s Deryni             02 December 14

 

So, what latest books are you anxiously waiting for? 

6 responses to “I’m in Reader Purgatory

  1. FuzziWuzzie says:

    Maeve, have you considered checking out charity stores? Most of them will have used books. What’s really nice is, once you’re done with them, They’re happy to take them back. 🙂

  2. Elspeth says:

    I’m always looking for older books to read so it has been ages since I waited for a new release.

  3. Maeve says:

    We’re truly voracious readers here – in fact we are completely our of physical space and this is with all three of us having e-readers! Monday night I had the girls comb through one of the bookcases and pull out any books they no longer wanted (you would have thought I was asking them to amputate an arm or something). But, finally they got through it all and filled 5 large shopping bags of children’s and YA books and they’re going to donate them to the school library.

    One of the funnier aspects of the whole exercise was listening to them discuss that they absolutely had to keep copies of books in ongoing series, because, much like their mother, they do catch-up reading of the backlist before a new release comes out.

    Also they (and me too, if truth be told) prefer to hold paper than to read off the screen. But we are simply running out of physical space. Le Sigh.

  4. hearthie says:

    Ahem. Elizabeth Moon’s last Paksenarrion universe books hits Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

