Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Distractions

on February 5, 2014

A couple weeks ago I was perusing The Kitchn (quel surprise…) and came across this article and now I can’t stop thinking about that paint color and how badly I want it in my kitchen!

A very ho-hum kitchen

Ho-hum….

See my blah, humdrum kitchen…haven’t done a thing to it since I moved in.  Doesn’t it look just about as boring as can be?

 

Can you just imagine it with this paint color?  “Avocado Peel” by Martha Stewart.  Think I may go looking for it this weekend.

I love this paint

Photo Credit – The Kitchn

 

 

 


9 responses to “Distractions

  1. Wow! It’s daring! I love the open shelving in the “Avacado Peel” kitchen. Do you think you’ll paint the cupboards above the sight line the same colour?
    Exciting!

  2. Maeve says:

    Hi Andrea – thank you for stopping by. I love the open shelving too, but I’m not sure it would really work for me (I count on those cabinet doors to hide all sorts of untidiness 🙂 – And I’m really not sure about the upper cabinets – you’re right that it is daring, and I’m afraid of overwhelming what is essentially a small kitchen. But the color keeps haunting me and I feel like I have to incorporate it somehow. I’d appreciate any thoughts you have.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, there’s way too much white. How about a bright color for the end wall? How about sending out your cabinet doors for refinishing? Both would be inexpensive and, if need be, reversible.

  4. Maeve says:

    I know Fuzzie. It’s just soooo blah. And I’m really in love with that eggplant colored paint. Not for the walls tho. And I don’t really like that white tile either. I wonder if I could replace the upper cabinets with open shelves and just make the determination to be very tidy. Must think on it. I need some serious suggestions.

    • FuzzieWuzzie says:

      I would advise you to be very careful. The ‘eggplant” might look current now but, it’ll be dated in the future.
      How about sending out the upper cabinet doors and seeing how light a wood finish can go no them? That, by itself would serve to break up the white.

      • Maeve says:

        I know Fuzzie, but I always do the safe and sensible thing and I need a little drama LOL; I like the idea you have for the upper cabinet doors. So many options! And I definitely need new drawer pulls.

  5. Hi Maeve, thanks for dropping by the site again. I was looking for your follow button but can’t find one?

    • Maeve says:

      Hi Andrea. I didn’t realize that I hadn’t added that feature (because I’m still largely clueless about how wordpress works and just figure out new things as I go along). I’ve added it now. Thank you so much for pointing it out to me, because I’d have never noticed on my own.

  6. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, it’s been a while since we’ve heard from you. Is everything all right?

Leave a Reply

