Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Happy National Carrot Cake Day – With Recipe!

on February 2, 2014

So, it’s national Carrot Cake Day, and it only seemed right that I should provide a recipe. There’s no actual photograph, because I didn’t make the cake today. But I have made it many many times to rave reviews and pleas for more. It’s an adaptation from a recipe pulled from Epicurious, so head there for the original – but this is how I’ve been making it and I’m including my go-to cream cheese frosting.

Perhaps you’re wondering why I didn’t bake cake, given that baking is one of my great pleasures in life.   I’m fiddling with my diet.  I’ve had a headache for the last three weeks – three solid weeks!  Mack says I need to try and document everything I’m eating and keep a log of how I feel.  It’s a good idea and worth a try, so I’m trying to limit my sugar intake and see if it makes a difference.  And  yes – yes – I’m making a doctor’s appointment.

Anyway, on with the cake.

Three Layer Carrot Cake

2 cups sugar
1 ½ cups vegetable oil
4 large eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. salt
3 cups finely grated, peeled carrots (about 1 lb.)
½ cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Lightly great three 9-inch cake pans (need at least 1 ½ inch high sides – it’s a deep cake). Line the bottom of the pans with waxed paper and then lightly grease the waxed paper (just makes it so much easier to release the cake).

Beat the sugar and oil with an electric mixer and beat well until combined. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon, and add to the liquid mixture. Stir in the carrots and walnuts.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, dividing equally (I actually use a scale and weigh them, but you can eyeball it). Bake the cake until about 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the cakes begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. Cool the cakes into the pans on racks for 15 minutes and then turn them out onto the racks and cool completely.  Don’t forget to pull off the waxed paper.

(The cakes can be made 1 day ahead of time; wrap them tightly in plastic wrap and store at room temperature.)

The Frosting:

1 8oz package cream cheese, at room temperature
8 Tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
3 ¾ cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted
1 tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. salt

Cream together the cream cheese and butter; add the sugar, salt and vanilla and beat until smooth and creamy.

To assemble, place one layer on platter and spread with ¾ cup frosting. Top with another layer and spread with ¾ cup frosting. Top with the remaining cake layer and use the rest of the frosting over the top and sides of the cake.

Enjoy every luscious crumb!


3 responses to “Happy National Carrot Cake Day – With Recipe!

  1. theshadowedknight says:

    Ah, carrot cake… Such a tragedy that it is so unhealthy and so delicious at the same time. oh, carrot cake.

    The Shadowed Knight

    • Maeve says:

      No kidding, right???? I’m helpless in the face of a slice – put one down next to me, and that’s it. I’m done. We have this market called Earthfare just a down the road from me (OK, it’s slightly farther away than “just down the road”) and they have the most luscious carrot cake. Makes it sooo hard to shop there! The Cake…it calls me…..

  2. Elspeth says:

    Ha! we celebrated carrot cake day. That was before my oven went kaput, fortunately.

    It was very good.

Leave a Reply

