Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Fathers and Daughters

on January 20, 2014
“Maeve, Honey?”
“Yes Daddy.”
“You know, it’s OK to think with your heart…”
“I know.”
“But you need to think a little with your head, too.”
“I know Daddy.  I’ll try. “
“You’re sure you want to marry him?”
“I’m sure.”
“Alright then.  Let’s get you married.”
“Love you Daddy.”
“I love you too Punkin.”

This is my Father’s favorite picture of him and me.  Six months ago I couldn’t even look at it.  But now, well, they’re all together and I think I’m ready to stop mourning.

Dad and I

In Loving Memory of My Father
23 January 1928 – 18 January 2009

 

 

7 responses to “Fathers and Daughters

  1. donalgraeme says:

    That picture is… lets just say I can understand why it was his favorite.

    • Maeve says:

      Donal, I didn’t even know the photographer had captured that moment , when the proofs came back, my Father declared that he needed a copy of that one. We laughed about the many many times he had the head/heart discussion with me. He was the best man I’ve ever known.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, I miss my Dad too.

    • Maeve says:

      You know, Fuzzie, I wouldn’t have it any other way. He was a great Dad and patient too (he had to be with me for a daughter :). And he was crazy about my Mother; they were fortunate to have each other and I was blessed to have them for parents,

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Maeve, I envy you and I’ll be that you weren’t as much trouble as you make yourself out to be. Maybe a little mischief now and then, 🙂

      • Maeve says:

        My poor parents LOL – I was actually a very well behaved little girl, but I tended to insist that the world worked according to my own view of reality. I would be heartbroken when I realized that things were not as I assumed them to be. 🙂

  3. sunshinemary says:

    Maeve, you were a ravishing bride. My goodness.

    [Thank you 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

