Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Some fun things to celebrate in January

on January 3, 2014

Over at The Nibble is the complete list of all food holidays for January, but I don’t care about a bunch of them, so thought I would highlight the really important ones.

You can always just head over there and update your calendar with whatever observances suit your fancy.  I plan to observe the following…

  • January 2: National Cream Puff Day – Why yes, I did have cream puffs yesterday…what of it?
  • January 4: National Spaghetti Day – with my Mother’s sauce recipe
  • January 5: National Whipped Cream Day – because there is leftover heavy cream in the refrigerator
  • January 6: Epiphany (make an Epiphany cake)  – Might just do that this year
  • January 6: National Shortbread Day – along with some tea and Jane Austen
  • January 8: English Toffee Day – sob
  • January 14: National Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day – what I wouldn’t give to have a good Jewish deli near me!
  • January 20: National Cheese Lover’s Day – brie, anyone?
  • January 23: National Pie Day – My favorite dessert and also my Dad’s birthday
  • January 24: National Peanut Butter Day – what’s your favorite?
  • January 27: Chocolate Cake Day – calls for Hershey’s™ Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake (see the box of Hershey’s Cocoa for recipe)
  • January 30: National Croissant Day – I debated observing this one, but it won out

 

I’m actually sort of thinking about some form of virtual observance or even a celebration of how I managed to overcome my innate desire to celebrate.  We’ll see how things go.


One response to “Some fun things to celebrate in January

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    FOOD?! Do you realize how this makes bachelors crazy? We’re stuck in “eat to live” mode.

Leave a Reply

