Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Pod People are Here

on December 22, 2013

And yesterday they took over my body and dragged it to the gym at 0700.

And did you know that the Pod People have mass?  Why yes they do, and when you get on the scale at said gym, they make you weigh more than you actually do.

Also, they think it’s a good idea to work with a trainer rather than just prance around on a treadmill.

So because of them, when you wake up the next morning your entire upper body is screaming at you.

Stupid Pod People!


10 responses to “The Pod People are Here

  1. theshadowedknight says:

    Maeve, do you even lift?

    Good for you for getting into the gym and doing some work. How much weight are you putting up?

    The Shadowed Knight

    • Maeve says:

      LOL TSK, do you mean something besides a fork?

      (wish I was kidding). Yesterday was my first session with the trainer at Gold’s – I’d love to be able to tell you what we did, but I’m ashamed to say that I just followed along like a sheep. Today my arms and back and abdominal muscles are screaming at me. I figure I’ll know a little more next time. Frankly I was overwhelmed – I’m sort of like that when I start something new – takes me a few sessions to actually figure out what’s going on. But I do catch on. Trainer said I need to lose about 15lb, which is pretty much what I was expecting – I actually feel pretty good about it (well, except for the dietary requirements she sent. that’s going to be really hard for me).

      • donalgraeme says:

        For myself, limiting what I eat is more difficult than working out, I actually enjoy the latter. So I feel your pain.

      • theshadowedknight says:

        The most important thing about choosing a trainer is asking yourself, do I want to look like this person? If so, do as she says. If not, why would you take her advice if it is not working for her?

        You can also work much harder than you think you can. The harder you exercise, the more meat you need to repair your body. When you are in the gym, push yourself hard, especially if you want to go easy. Know your own body, of course, but keep a high level of activity as a regular basis of your plans. Then eat meat. When I work hard, my diet includes pounds of meat a day. Work hard, eat meat.

        You should send me the dietary plan. I am an amateur expert on nutrition, and I know for what to look, and where to find what I need to know. I can critique it, because even among the gym and trainer set, most people are clueless about nutrition, proper nutrition at least; they will have all sorts of weird nutritional advice for you. Advice that may or may not work. I do it for fun.

        The Shadowed Knight

      • Maeve says:

        TSK – I will send it to you. I’m thinking about starting in earnest for the new year – last week just too rough. You can let me know what you think – I appreciate any and all advice.

        Donal – I’m kind of allergic to exercise (plus I flunked gym class twice in HS), so I’m not sure which is going to end up being more difficult for me. LOL

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, things could be worse.

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Merry Christmas. Here’s someone with better table manners.

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Christmas is for families. I watched Gettysburg and ate a frozen pizza.

Leave a Reply

