Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Oh No – The whole milk I bought specifically for baking is about to expire! Whatever shall I do?

on December 17, 2013

You knew it was just a rhetorical question, right?  I baked these….

Honey Cakes

They look a little ragged around the edges – you can take a sharp knife and clean them up (consume the evidence so nobody knows – people don’t have to know EVERYTHING!)

 

These are a variation on a coffee cake my mother made from her Joy of Cooking, 1964 Edition.  “Quick Rich Moist Coffeecake” was one of the more coveted treats in my childhood.  It really is all that the name implies, but the real mouthwatering part is the glaze – a thick, gooey honey butter glaze, Honey Bee Glaze” to be precise.

Now I have baked this as directed in a 9×11-inch pan.  I’ve baked it in a 9-inch spring form pan (not quite as successful – the seal isn’t’ as tight as it should be.  But I had never made individual cakes before.  I may never make it any other way again.

 

Quick, Rich, Moist Coffee Cake with Honey Bee Glaze

Heat oven to 350F

Make the Honey Bee Glaze:

In a small saucepan, stir and bring to the boiling point over low heat:

½ cup sugar
¼ cup milk
¼ cup butter
¼ cup honey
½ tsp. vanilla
½ cup crushed nut meats

A couple notes here – the original recipe does not call for vanilla and you can leave it out.  Also, you could use vanilla sugar (which is sublime); the nuts are optional, as there are nut issues in my house – NOT ALLERGIES, but issues (some people won’t eat them). 

Keep the glaze warm while you make the cake batter

For the cake:

Sift together:

2 cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt

Cut in:

½ cup butter

Break into a liquid measuring cup:

1 egg

Fill with:

Milk (enough to make 1 cup)
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Beat the egg, milk and vanilla together and add to the dry ingredients.  Beat until smooth.

Divide the batter between 12 greased muffin cups.

Spoon about 1 Tbsp. Honey Bee Glaze over the batter (will be very full) and bake for @20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Once they’re out of the oven, you want to run a spatula around each cake and the immediately invert the pan onto a cooling rack.  I usually do this with wax or parchment paper on the counter to catch the drips.  You need to be careful because the honey glaze is about the temperature of the sun and will burn your hand off (OK – it’s more like the temp of lava….).  If there is any honey topping stuck to the muffin cups, just scoop it out and spread on the cakelet. 

DO NOT try and eat one of these right out of the oven unless you’re crushing on some cute doctor in the ER and need a very expensive and painful excuse to show up there.

Really BIG important note – I made these in a light-colored non-stick muffin tin (this one, as a matter of fact), which really helped them to release cleanly – and still used non-stick spray.  Don’t know how if a conventional pan will release as well.  Also, I reduced the temp to 325F and just watched the time carefully – as I’ve mentioned before, my oven runs hot (sometimes).

All recipes adapted from “Joy of Cooking”, Rombauer & Becker, 1964

Mother's Joy of Cooking

My mother’s copy of the Joy of Cooking. Spine is now a bookmark and it’s held together with rubber bands. I can’t remember it looking any other way

 

8 responses to “Oh No – The whole milk I bought specifically for baking is about to expire! Whatever shall I do?

  1. donalgraeme says:

    Those look disgustingly good….

    • Maeve says:

      They are killer! Only thing is (I swear to you) – that hot honey is a health hazard LOL. You pour it over the top and it’s really liquidy (not a real word, I know), but then it sinks to the bottom and gets thick. Last time I made this I used my springform pan and the seal wasn’t tight enough – hot liquid honey all over the oven and then it got on me when I tried to deal with the dripping mess – second degree burns all over my left hand.

  2. Morvena says:

    Oh man, I’m gonna have a list of recipes to try that’s a mile long at this rate :O

  3. […] is a recipe for some pretty little cakes from Maeve at Wannabe […]

    • janetstein says:

      Thanks for posting. I have made this every year for about 20 yrs for Rosh Hashanah because of the honey glaze. Forgot my recipe this year so was super excited to find it here. I make the big size tho- will have to try the minis!

Leave a Reply

