Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Can one suffer from cooking blog burnout?

on December 17, 2013

I subscribe a vast number of cooking blogs.  That little “ding” my phone makes every five minutes – yeah – it’s another “come read all about this awesome thing I just cooked or baked or served or whatever!”

I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by it all, possibly even resentful in an envious sort of way.  Well Maveypants, why don’t you just unsubscribe to the blogs and set about using your FIVE BILLION cookbooks?  You know, the ones that cause avalanches?  Those ones?  And maybe stay off P**terest?  And how about moving all the culinary FB pages you “LIKE” that keep showing up in your  news feed?  Hmmmmm?

Thing is, even with all the blog feeds, and the ladies posting their weekly menus and all the cookbooks and P**terest and FB, blah, blah, blah…I’ve been feeling a little uninspired with respect to dinners for the last couple weeks.  Might be the brutal work schedule I’ve been pulling.  Might be that I just get a little blue this time of year.  Might also just be excuses.  (Personally I’m kind of going with the last one, but let’s just keep in here between our selves, ‘K?)

Take last week, for example.  I actually only cooked twice – I know – TWICE.  Both times were crockpot food and then we ate various forms of leftovers.  In my own defense, I pulled some really long days last week (and I worked over the weekend); big girl had exams; little (ha) girl studying for her midterms.  The food was tasty and designed to be used in leftovers, but it’s just that I couldn’t bring myself to even think creatively about my menus – utilitarian, that’s the word I’m looking for – my menu was utilitarian.  How Bah Humbug!

This week needs to be better.

Monday – Butter Chicken with veggie sauté

Tuesday – Orecchiette with spicy chicken sausage and leeks

Wednesday – “left over chicken” & lemon soup & salad

Thursday – Jerk fish tacos

Friday – Dinner out

I was going to make the ubiquitous Chicken with Forty Cloves of Garlic this week (and bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day), but then decided that the likelihood of my peeling 40 cloves of garlic was pretty nil at the moment.  Maybe the week between Christmas and New Year’s.  If I get some time off.  Even better – I’ll have the girls cook it.


5 responses to “Can one suffer from cooking blog burnout?

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    You need some cheering up. It does sound as if work is piling up in anticipation of the Christmas holiday.

    • Maeve says:

      Yes Fuzzie – work piles up in anticipation of Christmas “shut-down”. I don’t fault anyone for taking off the time to spend with their families, but it certainly makes for a mad couple weeks before hand.

      You have no idea how much I love these bears…..

  2. Morvena says:

    It’s been an odd holiday season and I’ve lamented to my husband that it really hasn’t felt very Christmasy this year with everyone being sick and ho-hum about gifts and everything else that’s been going on lately, so it’s not just you. Maybe you just need to take it easy and not worry too much about cooking for a little bit – I’m sure your family knows that you’ve got a lot going on and would be willing to cut you some slack!

    I’ve been working on a little chocolate & pretzel recipe last night and today that’s really easy to do and might be something to try when you don’t feel like making a big dessert or don’t have a lot of the normal baking ingredients on hand or just need little sweet snacks for a party or something. If you take reader submissions, I’ll post it or I can email it and you can post it if you like 🙂

    • Maeve says:

      YES YES YES – let’s definitely post it. I’m not sure how to set up for you to post. Do you want to e-mail to me and I’ll post it for you? That would be so much fun. email is maeve0330 at yahoo.com

      BTW – I’ll snap out of it – have to – I’m the Mama. 🙂

      • Morvena says:

        I’ll email it to you! I got busy today, so I’ll send it when I get home from work tomorrow night 🙂

Leave a Reply

