Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

The Gauntlet has been Flung

on December 11, 2013

An excerpt from Chapter 30:

“My gracious Lord and King,” said Myles, “I, the son of the accused, do offer myself as his champion in this cause, beseeching thee of thy grace leave to prove the truth of the same, being a belted knight by thy grace and of thy creation and the peer of any who weareth spurs.”

Thereupon, rising, he drew his iron gauntlet from his girdle, and flung it crashing down upon the floor, and with his heart swelling within him with anger and indignation and pity of his blind father, he cried out in a loud voice, “I do accuse thee, William of Alban, that thou liest vilely as aforesaid, and here cast down my gage, daring thee to take it up.”

 From “Men of Iron”, by Howard Pyle, copyright  1891

(Seriously, is that not the best challenge EVER?)


11 responses to “The Gauntlet has been Flung

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    That’s cool but, not lightly undertaken. It could be that trial by combat going out of fashion is a good thing. Then, might could make right.

    • Maeve says:

      Indeed it did, Fuzzie. And the scenes of the trial by combat are harrowing.

      It’s just that my challenge to TSK was soooooo wimpy compared to this; I had to post for the sheet contrast. He upped the ante tho – I now have to bake him his army as a first installment LOL. Hoist by my own Petard, indeed!

      BTW – Men of Iron is my absolute all time favorite book. Have you read it?

      • theshadowedknight says:

        Best challenge I ever read was in the Belgariad, where one of the characters throws down the gauntlet and “accidentally” hits his foe in the face with his throw. The challenged party had to spit out some blood and teeth before he could accept.

        Anyway, comparatively, a triple dog dare is pretty tame.

        The Shadowed Knight

      • Maeve says:

        OK – now there’s a challenge!

        I had to look up Belgariad – haven’t read anything by Eddings before, so I will consider this a referral, so to speak – and thank you! (I read really fast and am always looking for something new).

      • theshadowedknight says:

        I have the same problem with reading, myself. I will finish a six hundred page book in the span of a few hours, and then I have to find something new. Then with my memory, I have large sections of books memorized, or near enough to count. It gets expensive, very quickly.

        Anyway, the Belgariad is outstanding, and so is the Mallorean. That entire universe is hilarious. You are reading a serious part, and then you come across something that he wrote in and you just break out laughing.

        The Shadowed Knight

      • Maeve says:

        Have you read any of Simon R Green’s Nightside series? They’re really not for everyone – kind of macabre and twisted, but I’m hooked nevertheless. They’re short too, so when you only have a little time, they make for a quick read. I would also state that they’re something of an acquired taste.

        The other series I loved were Robert Lynn Aspirins “Thieves World” and Michael Moorcock’s “Elric of Melnibone” – I know they’re old, but are excellent reads -my brothers initially turned me on to them.

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, I haven’t read it. I did have a high school teacher that served in the Navy. He came in contact with men who had served when ships were made of wood and men were made of iron.
    You may have to bake a lot of cookies for TSK.

    • Maeve says:

      I know – woe is me! alas! alak! I’ll be in my kitchen slaving over baked goods….. LOL

      You ought to check this book out if you like anything to do with medieval history; it’s an excellent tale (really it’s a boy’s book, but was assigned reading when I was in 7th or 8th grade and I just loved every word).

  3. Maeve says:

    Outstanding Fuzzie. I have to watch that movie in its entirety. Have seen parts but not the whole thing.

    One other awesome scene (not a challenge of course) is the soliloquy in Henry V before the Battle of Angincourt (the Kenneth Branagh) version…..

Leave a Reply

