Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Monday Night Baking – Pumpkin Cookies

on November 18, 2013

The last week has been out of control.  I was supposed to write a post about the Re-enactment of the Battle of Battery Wagner.  Didn’t happen.  I was going to write a post about seeing Amos Lee in concert on Friday night.  Didn’t happen.  I did, however bake pumpkin cookies tonight (because I was annoyed and baking is therapeutic).  These things are addictive.  They have a mild pumpkin and cinnamon flavor and are soft and cakey.   The frosting came out more like a glaze.  Not sure what happened there, but it was good nonetheless.  Frankly, though, they would be fine with a dusting of powdered sugar.

Puffy Pumpkin Cookies

For the cookies :

2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp.  cinnamon (you could use ½ tsp. cinnamon and ½ tsp. of the other stuff)
1 cup butter (I used salted)
1 cup sugar
1 egg
7.5 oz. (1/2 can) solid pack pumpkin

Heat the oven to 350F.

Combine the dry ingredients and set aside.

Cream the butter and the sugar; add the egg and vanilla and beat well. Beat in the pumpkin.

Add the flour mixture and beat until blended.

Use a 2 tsp. cookie scoop to drop the dough on ungreased baking sheets.

Bake for 10 minutes, or until the tops are set.  They will be puffy and soft.

Remove to a wire rack and frost when cooled.
For the Frosting:

½ cup butter
½ cup packed light brown sugar
¼ cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
2 ¾ cups powdered sugar

Cook and stir the butter and brown sugar in a small saucepan until melted and smooth.  Pour into a medium bowl.  Add the milk and vanilla.  Stir in the powdered sugar until smooth.

20131118-233846.jpg

(Recipe adapted from “Better Homes & Gardens Special Interest Publications – 100 Best Cookies 2013”)

[Ed. I halved the original recipe because it made something like 60 cookies and I really didn’t feel like baking that many; so I ended up with about 30 and pawned off about 2/3 to my neighbor who has teenaged boys (with bottomless pits for stomachs)].

3 responses to “Monday Night Baking – Pumpkin Cookies

  1. Heidie Makes says:

    so delicious looking cookies,I love pumpkin =)

    • Maeve says:

      I like it too – OK, let me qualify that – I like it baked into things. These turned out really well (I recommend you bake some tonight 🙂 ), but I’m going to rethink the icing – it should have been creamy rather than glaze-like. Maybe I’ll experiment a little this evening.

Leave a Reply

