Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Getting Ready for School in the Morning

on November 15, 2013

It was cold this morning at 0600 (and I accept that “cold” is a relative term).

“Mama, do you have any tights”

“Yes”

“Can I borrow some”

“Do you promise to not tear gifreakinormous holes in them?”

“It’s not my fault.”

“Granted.  But do you still promise?”

“OK I promise.”

“Why don’t you borrow tights from your sister?”

“Angharad won’t lend me any.”

“Why not?”

“I tear holes in them.”

(Yes, I lent her the tights.  She wore them with her green argyle uniform socks on the outside.  For real.)

8 responses to “Getting Ready for School in the Morning

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    With the weekend coming up, time to go shopping for tights for Iseult.
    It should be easier than uniform socks.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Fuzzie – I buy tights by the GROSS. And you know my issue with the socks – the only place that sells them is 15 miles away. Last time I was over in Mt. P., I bought two pair so that there would be an extra. Do we currently know the whereabouts of 6 pairs of socks? No, we do not. Are we surprised by this? No, we are not. Am I holding out hope of actually locating the missing socks? Not until the day she graduates.

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        “Not until she graduates”. That had me laughing hard. About the tights, I remember being a boy and being hard on the knees of my trousers. It sounds like Iseult is not too far behind.

  2. sunshinemary says:

    Ha, this conversation could have taken place at my house on any given morning, too!

    I love all-cotton tights, but they’re not that easy to find.

    • Maeve says:

      Doesn’t it just make you want to howl? I just can’t figure out how she tears them up – and there’s a new excuse every time – the best one started out “there was a string… “

  3. sunshinemary says:

    By the way, I’ve added you to my blogroll under Domestic Arts, Femininity, Mothering, Marriage – Christian.

Leave a Reply

