Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Little Odds and Ends

on November 8, 2013

Last night, because things were not busy enough, one of my shelves crashed under the weight of too many cookbooks.  It smashed down on the shelf below (which was also loaded with cookbooks) and then they both crashed on to the stuff piled up on the bottom shelf.  We’re talking about a storage cabinet here, not a bookcase.  It’s true that I HAD been cautioned that the weight limit for the shelves was 80lbs, but how do you really know when you’ve hit 80 lbs of cookbook?

Mack says I should think about culling the herd, so to speak.   Mack is delusional.  That’s akin to suggesting I get rid of shoes or handbags.

Anyway, I have the shelves sort of repaired and I’ve limited the number of books on each one (still haven’t found a final resting place for the others so they are piled up in the FROG).

Thankfully, I don’t have to think anymore about this problem until next week, because this weekend is the Battle of Secessionville at Boone Hall Plantation and I get to play antebellum chick for a couple days and wander around in a hoopskirt.  Besides, like all messes, it will still be here when I get back.

6 responses to “Little Odds and Ends

  1. Amanda says:

    Very sorry to hear about your shelves; at least they went down for a good cause–food!

    “Thankfully, I don’t have to think anymore about this problem until next week, because this weekend is the Battle of Secessionville at Boone Hall Plantation and I get to play antebellum chick for a couple days and wander around in a hoopskirt. Besides, like all messes, it will still be here when I get back.”

    Oh my goodness this sounds like so much fun; you should post pictures!

  2. Maeve says:

    I will write about it, Amanda. Don’t have nearly the pictures I’d like, but was an amazing time.

  3. Sigyn says:

    Maeve, do you use all of the recipes out of all of the cookbooks, or do you use a handful out of each? Or something in between?

    By the way, I finally got around to visiting you, as you can see. I’m enjoying so far!

    • Maeve says:

      Hi Sigyn – and welcome to my sandbox!
      ,
      To my everlasting shame I have to admit that I own dozens from which I have NEVER cooked anything – I always intended to, but, you know what they say about intentions….

      I’ve promised myself that this coming year I’m going to get the cookbooks under control – some I plan to keep because they are special to me (were my mother’s), but there are others that I just can’t see ever using (like the one for nursery food!). And THEN, there are some which I used for one particular thing or other – I think I’ll just copy that recipe and then donate the book to the library or something – I know it’s weird, but I like reading them. I suppose I could have a worse vice…

      • Sigyn says:

        How’s your storage space? You could always scan the pages with the recipes you use or intend to use and print them for a kind of all-purpose cookbook, and then put the originals away in a plastic storage box with a good lid. That way, they don’t get faded by constant exposure to light and you still have them when you want them.

        Gosh, I’ll have to show you guys my cookbook. I’ve been promising I would for months now…

      • Maeve says:

        I really like that idea. And I’m actually trying to put together cookbooks for the girls of our favorite dishes – some are from cookbooks/cooking blogs, but some are dishes I just came up with. I’m totally out of (physical) storage space so scanning is a great idea. I’m dying to see your cookbook – it’s so interesting to see what kinds of things other people are cooking – and it gives me ideas too.

Leave a Reply

