Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Better than Ed’s Sauce

on November 6, 2013

Every time I make this, I think of the movie “Good Burger” and Ed’s Sauce.  I also think this is probably better.

The first time I saw this recipe, I nearly gagged.  I thought it looked so disgusting.  But for whatever reason, I felt compelled to make it.  I even had to make special trip to the grocery store because I didn’t actually stock some of the items called for (onion powder & bottled ginger).  Anyway, I assembled all the ingredients and threw them in the processor, fully expecting a truly gag-worth mess.  Yes, well, actually I nearly came to blows with the H when he tried to swipe a spoonful.  This stuff is so good you will be tempted to embrace both gluttony and greed with unparalleled fervor.  You could use it for currency.  This evening, my friend Mack helped me move about a ton of dead brush to the curb for track pickup.  I thanked him with a jar of this sauce.  And it was hard for me to let him walk out the door with it.

Don’t be afraid of the ridiculously long list of ingredients – you can have it done in 15 minutes start to finish and you’ll be licking the bowl…

Yes, I know the jar is half empty

Peanut Dipping Sauce

4 large cloves fresh garlic
1 tablespoon onion powder
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
1 tablespoon bottled fresh ginger
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
¼ cup firmly packed light brown sugar
½ cup smooth peanut butter
¼ cup ketchup
¼ cup soy sauce (not the reduced sodium kind)
Juice of ½ lemon
½ teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes (you can use a  less if you prefer)

I make this in my food processor, but you can make it just as easily in a blender (I don’t have a blender anymore because we had a little falling out).

Peel the garlic cloves and throw them in the food processor one at a time down the feed tube with the machine running until they’re finely chopped.  Add the remaining ingredients on at a time, (you can squeeze the lemon directly into the processor bowl – just watch for seeds).

Pulse on high until smooth.  That’s it! 

I store mine in a mason jar and just before serving, I transfer it to a microwave safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap and warm for 1 – 2 minutes on high. 

Did I mention it’s good on everything?  Well, it is.  Tonight we had Thai chicken wraps with this sauce.  Tomorrow I’m making burgers – served with the sauce (if there’s any left). 

Recipe Adapted from “Desperation Entertaining” by Beverly Mills & Alicia Ross


4 responses to “Better than Ed’s Sauce

  1. Ha, I remember the Good Burger sketches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

