Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

How some people in my house make plans

on October 29, 2013

Iseult:   So, Mama, can I go to the Fair on Friday night?

Me:        Who else is going?

Iseult:   I don’t know.  Friends.

Me:        What time were you planning to go?

Iseult:   I don’t know.  Sometime in the evening.

Me:        How were you planning to get there?

Iseult:   I don’t know.  Maybe you could drive us.

Me:        How much does it cost?

Iseult:   I don’t know.  But I think we can get tickets at the Pig.

Me:        Are there any other details you don’t know that you’d like to tell me about?

Iseult:   Seriously, Mama, if you don’t want me to go, you could just say so instead of asking all these questions.

(I think she has a great future in politics!)

 

[Update:  Iseult comes home with a slip of paper and hands it to me.  “Check it out, Mama – I got Julie’s mom’s number for you and I even got her name so that should make you feel better.  When are you going to call her?”  Apparently the little discussion (I call it that with reservations) had some effect.  It’s these little victories which keep me going.]

 

3 responses to “How some people in my house make plans

  1. donalgraeme says:

    That is a personality thing, I think. I tend to be the opposite, and over-plan. And I was that way when younger as well.

    • Maeve says:

      The funny thing is that she’s not really flighty. But it drives me crazy when she comes with some half-boiled plan and I’m expected to buy into it. It’s like the details aren’t automatically evident to her. Must be 14-itis or something 🙂

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, are you being manuervered?

Leave a Reply

