Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Weekend Baking

on October 14, 2013

This weekend I was going to make the drool-inducing Apple Pie Streusel Muffins over at The Kitchn; had, in fact, been dreaming thinking about them since the posted the recipe last week. I get up Saturday morning and head into the kitchen for a little baking therapy. There I’m greeted by the daughters, rummaging through the refrigerator and pantry. “Can we have pancakes?” Le Sigh.

Pancakes are good and I like them well enough, but I hate making them. It takes about 4 pancakes to get the griddle temperature right; the batter drips everywhere; people complain because I can’t cook ten at one time (seriously!); I’m sure I can come up with a dozen reasons for not wanting to make them, but let’s just stop right here. Point is, until a couple months ago, bringing up “pancakes” sort of put me in a bad mood, but then I was tooling around chez Joy the Baker and came upon her Maple Syrup Pancake Muffins. That’s right – MUFFINS! Yes, you hear the angels singing too, don’t you?

These little gems are amazing. They taste exactly like pancakes. You pour the warmed syrup over them and it sinks down into the muffin, so every bite has that sweet, sticky deliciousness.

This being my household, several tweaks were necessary, the most notable of which was the elimination of maple syrup. Yep – you read that correctly – no maple syrup. The girls don’t like it – sometimes I think they’re aliens or something. Seriously, who doesn’t like maple syrup? Anyway, I substituted some vanilla extract for the maple syrup in the muffin batter, and concocted a glaze of Log Cabin™ syrup and a little butter. Those of you with more refined (normal) tastebuds can head over to Joy’s site and make the original. If you’re not so particular, I recommend my own lowbrow version.

WP_000005

Don’t they look delish with their sticky syrupy glaze?

Pancake Muffins with Syrup Glaze

The Muffin Batter:

7 Tbsp. butter

1/3 cup whole milk

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk (save the white for other purposes)

3 tsp. vanilla extract

1½ cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup sugar

1½ tsp. baking powder

¾ tsp. salt

For the Glaze:

¾ cup syrup (your favorite brand)

1 Tbsp butter

Make the muffins:

Preheat the oven to 375F. Line muffin cups with paper or foil liners (or spray with nonstick spray).

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

Melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Melt and cook down until little brown bits appear in the pan. WATCH THAT BUTTER LIKE A HAWK. It will burn faster than you can blink. The crackling will subside and butter will brown quickly after that. Remove from the heat and pour into a small bowl to keep the butter from continuing to cook.

Whisk together the milk, egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract until combined. Add the browned butter and stir until smooth.

Add the milk and butter mixture to the dry ingredients all at once and stir gently until just incorporated. There may be some small lumps, that’s fine. You don’t want to over mix or the muffins will be tough and nasty.

Divide the batter among the muffin cups and spread evenly. A small offset spatula is very handy for this. Bake the muffins in the upper third of the oven until golden and a wooden pick comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes. (I always set my time for 5 minutes shy of the earlier time and start checking, because my oven runs hot – I highly recommend investing in a good oven thermometer). Anyway, mine were done in 15 minutes, so just watch carefully.

While the muffins are baking, Make the Glaze:

In a small saucepan, simmer the syrup and butter and stir occasionally until thickened slightly. It takes about 15 minutes over low heat, so you want to get this started right away. Remove from the heat and wait for muffins to finish baking, if necessary.

When the muffins are done, remove them from the muffin to a cooling rack set over waxed paper and poke a few holes in each with a toothpick. Dip each muffin top in the syrup glaze. After you’ve dipped them all, go back to the first and repeat.

I don’t think I need to mention that these are best eaten warm (like that’s going to be a problem – you’ll be fighting off the hoard trying to steal them while they’re still hot enough to blister the mouth). These are a great alternative to pancakes – not a complete substitute, of course, but you can get a dozen (or two) out in pretty short order, with minimal mess, and lots of sticky goodness.

(Note: The Kitchn is one of my absolute favorite websites. I spend way too much time there, but everyone needs a vice, right?)

2 responses to “Weekend Baking

  1. It must have been the weather because I made two different types of muffins and am currently thinking I need to make some more. Thanks for the recipe!

    • Maeve says:

      I really think you can never have too many muffin recipes. Of course, I also don’t think you can bake too many either. Fall makes me want to crank up the oven too, so that baking urge goes into overdrive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

