Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Weaving Tangled Webs

on October 3, 2013

A million years ago I was in graduate school studying to become a teacher.  I remember some bits and pieces of various classes, but there was one particular class which has stayed with me.  The professor was conducting a lesson about writing – specifically how to teach writing skills to high school aged kids.  The lesson employed an excellent exercise to illustrate the following point:   “When you write something and send it out, you are not there to explain what you meant.  You must, therefore, take great care with your choice of words.  If you leave room for interpretation, expect that many will impose their own  and will come away with some message other than the one you intended to convey.”

In this day and age of blogging and commenting and twittering and facebooking and texting and e-mailing  – an explosion of often spontaneously WRITTEN conversations – such advice should be ferociously embraced.  All too often we leave our words open to interpretation and our meaning, our intent may become irrevocably lost.  That first reading is much like a first impression – lasting and nearly impossible to overcome.

There is a place I like to hang out where conflict has erupted.  It is ugly and painful to read and it is fundamentally that several individuals are misinterpreting each other’s words and digging in their heels.

I will need to take greater care to heed my own advice.


8 responses to “Weaving Tangled Webs

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Now, I can’t begin to imagine where this confused and conflicted arena could be. As he said, tongue in cheek.

  2. Maeve says:

    I don’t know Fuzzie – things seemed angry and mean and it seemed to spill over elsewhere and it was just hard to read. Sometimes I “hear” such hurt in the words. It gets a bit overwhelming.

  3. Maeve says:

    I’m just having a girl-type reaction to it. Probably because I’m still not a guy,

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, you are very much a girl! Don’t worry, the guys will stop. A lot of what you object to is the need for guys to vent.

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    maybe a post about recipes with honey?

    • Maeve says:

      I think that’s an excellent idea Fuzzie. Baking always puts me I a good mood. Honey will just make it all that better. I may just try the honey cake recipe I made last time when I burnt my hand – but will use a different springform pan this time.

Leave a Reply

