Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Those lovely moments when your kids actually tell you what they think of you without really noticing it

on October 1, 2013

Late-ish – say, 9pm – Iseult appears at the bedroom door…

“Mama?”

“Yes, baby.”

“Whatcha doing”

“Balancing the checkbook. What’s up?”

“So, like, tomorrow is Nerd Day.”

“OK – sounds like fun.”

“Yep.”

(Pause here)

“So, you got any clothes I can borrow?”


10 responses to “Those lovely moments when your kids actually tell you what they think of you without really noticing it

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Oops! That was a faux pas. Hopefully, what she meant were clothes that were too big (expected to be grown into) and out of date.
    Maybe, that’s it.

  2. Maeve says:

    Yeah – sure – uh this from the kid who can’t figure out how to wear clean socks!

    • FuzzieWuzzie says:

      About the socks, if she wears them for “Nerd Day”, would that be a clue?

      • Maeve says:

        Fuzzie – I can’t figure her out. Tomorrow is “preppy day”. I was supposed to come up with outfits for that too. Apparently I’m a preppy nerd (there’s actually nothing nerdy about me – I break things rather than fix them)

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I. like you, am at a complete loss. I thought the whole point of uniforms was to make things less complicated and prevent displays of status. Overnight notice is a little much too.

    • Maeve says:

      LOL Fuzzie, apparently this is School Spirit Week and every day there is some “theme” all leading up to homecoming on Friday. So we had “wear a yellow shirt day” and “nerd day” and “preppy day” and then there will be something else. Problem is, some people’s children aren’t terribly forthcoming with notice as to the themes. Hence the last minute scramble.
      I think there’s a crazy hat day too. Or maybe that’s different. I have a hard time keeping up with it all.

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        “Someone’s not terribly forthcomingwith notice”?
        Now, who could that be? The elves who stole the socks are using the program as a tablecloth.

      • Maeve says:

        You know Fuzzie, I sort of wish it were elves. Or better yet, brownies – then I’d get my laundry done and my house cleaned 🙂

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    I always had a silly theory about women and chocolate. Men never see women eat chocolate. I think they take it home and bribe the elves with it. 🙂

    • Maeve says:

      Fuzzie – if some elf tried to take the chocolate out of my hands, I’d feed him to the gargoyles in my living room (their names are Rosencrantz & Guildenstern).

Leave a Reply

