Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Not Really an O Henry Tale

on September 30, 2013

A long time ago, when we were first married, the H was working as a chef and I was working for a non-profit.  Our schedules conflicted wildly.  I used to tease him that the most commonly uttered phrases in our marriage were “good morning”, “good night” and “good bye”.   For all that, we were wildly happy.

The H used to take the train to Stamford to the restaurant where he worked and nearly every Friday he would buy me a bunch of flowers at the train station.  There was nothing fancy about them – they varied a little from season to season, but they were typical train station bouquets.  And I loved them.  He would buy them in the afternoon on the way to work and stash them in one of the coolers until he got off work.  I was often snoozing on the couch, waiting for him.  And he would have those flowers.  I would scramble to find something to hold them.

I wanted something special to put them in and finally found a turquoise jug with pink trim.  It was perfect – and far too expensive for me to buy outright.  I saved for months.  Finally one Friday night I had enough.  I went by the boutique on the way home from work, brought my treasure home and waited impatiently for him.

As was often the case with Fridays, it was the early hours of the morning when he finally arrived home.  I jumped up expectantly.  No flowers.  I can still see the abashed look on his face.  “They’re still in the cooler.  I was hurrying to catch the last train so I wouldn’t have to call you to come get me.”  The two of us broke out in laughter.

I still smile thinking about it.

photo (1)

[Edited to add:  Fuzzie asked me if I still had the vase.  Took me a while to find it, but here it is.  The light is bad and the colors seem a little muted.  Maybe I’ll put flowers in it again some day.]

5 responses to “Not Really an O Henry Tale

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Do you still have the vase?

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, it’s your vase. There’s no one else to claim it.

Leave a Reply

