Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Sometimes I Just Can’t Help Myself

on September 29, 2013

Instead of going to the grocery store today like a good mother, I went to the local B&N. The reasons were twofold: I needed a latte and I needed Thomas Sniegoski’s newest Remy Chandler novel. It’s been out for a while, but today I simply caved – it had to happen sooner or later.

I should explain that I have an intense love-hate relationship with these books. On the one hand I absolutely devour them – I start reading and the world just stops. I can’t put it down and I desperately want to know what’s going to happen next. At the same time, they absolutely infuriate me (the Catholic in me keeps screaming “No, dammit! No! No! No!”).

Book Four, “A Hundred Word for Hate” was a particularly frustrating read. Near the end, I literally threw the book – which was kind of awkward since I was sitting in my car at a raised drawbridge and I ended up hurtling it out the passenger side window. Thankfully there was enough time for me to run out and retrieve it. And yes, I really did need to retrieve it, because I really did need to know how it ended.

After that, I resolved to abstain from Remy. Which I did. Until “In the House of the Wicked” it came out. I bought it, but I still haven’t read it. And now, today, I went out and bought “Walking in the Midst of Fire.

I just don’t understand myself sometimes.

(For those of you unfamiliar with the series, private investigator Remy Chandler is really the fallen angel Remiel. Now, these are not works of Christian fiction by any stretch of the imagination and require suspension of pretty much everything you ever learned in CCD. My less than successful ability to do so is why I have such a contentious relationship with the books.)

6 responses to “Sometimes I Just Can’t Help Myself

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    It sounds like you’re hooked on the premise. Have you read any Andrew Greeley?

  2. Maeve says:

    No Fuzzie, I haven’t. What kind of stuff does he write?

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    He’s a Catholic priest that writes fantasy novels. He might be a little too “boy” oriented for you. It’s been a while since I have browsed bookstores. You might find his stuff in used bookstores.

  4. Maeve says:

    I’ll check it out. I’m pretty eclectic in my reading – right now I’m still struggling with “And Only to Deceive”, but I also have Hannah Jayne’s newest release and I’m wanting to start Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan series and I also have Andrew Klavan’s “The Identity Man” AND last night I found my copy of Sharon Shinn’s “Summers at Auburn Castle” so I want to reread that as well. So many books….so little time. And then there’s some other I need to get reading this weekend. I need a week off for my books! 🙂

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    It does sound as if your plate is pretty full. I would rather buy used books from charities than new. The charities are always happy to take them back once you’ve read them. 🙂

    • Maeve says:

      I buy a lot from the UBS (or did when I had one), but I also buy a lot on my nook – and I have Kindle SW on my laptop. I do like paper still tho. Thing is, I’m kind of not happy unless I have at least one book on or near my person at all times – ya never know when the drawbridge will be up 🙂 . The nook is good because I can lug around a couple hundred with me.

Leave a Reply

