Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Not what I want to hear at 0600…

on September 24, 2013

“Mama – did you wash any socks?”

See, I only do laundry EVERY SINGLE DAY.  The reason for this?  Daughters.  Once a girl touches an article of clothing it becomes contaminated or something.  It can’t go back into the dresser or closet.  It ends up in the hamper.  Or on the floor, where the dog sleeps on it, so it ends up in the hamper.

Deep dark secret here:  I actually like doing laundry.  (I like ironing too and the smell of spray starch – but that’s a whole other kettle of fish).  I’m happy to wash and dry the clothes (OK, I’m happy to load the washing machine and dryer); I’m happy to fold them too.  The only thing I require is that the people bring their laundry to the laundry room.  Because I DO NOT fetch.

So in answer to Iseult’s question – “I don’t know honey.  I washed whatever was in the laundry basket.”

There is a pause and then:  “Never mind.  I found some.”

Ten bucks says she’s wearing yesterday’s socks.


18 responses to “Not what I want to hear at 0600…

  1. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Washing machines eat socks, but they do it one sock at a time. You discover this when you try to match them up in pairs once they’re dry.

    • Maeve says:

      Fuzzie, I’m just about at my wits ends over the stupid socks. Every night I say to her, “so you have everything for tomorrow?” Every night I get “yep Mama” and yep in the morning it’s ” I don’t have socks”
      I need a vacation

  2. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Wouldn’t it be easier to buy more socks?

  3. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Aren’t they wonderful! Who, but a meanie, could object?

  4. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    There’s only one problem for me with this trick, I don’t drink. For the husband in Stingray’s video, it had to go over well as his buddies had to know his favorite. Did you notice that his wife cracked open a bottle of water?

    • Maeve says:

      I don’t drink either. Was that actually a commercial or was is really a prank?

      • FuzzieWuzzie says:

        Ten kegs of beer would make it one heck of a prank. One keg piped to the kitchen faucet would be good enough for a prank. Maybe it was a commercial? Chris has linked two minute commercials from that part of the world. Who knows?

  5. FuzzieWuzzie says:

    Maeve, it’s time for an update. Are socks starting to reappear?

Leave a Reply

