Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Thank Goodness I get to Bake again

on September 7, 2013

This whole Cave Girl thing is hard and I’m not really suited to it.  I’m sure it’s all healthier and better and smarter and blah blah blah.  I don’t really it like it though.   Mostly I don’t like that I’m not baking.  No muffins, cupcakes, biscuits, bread, pie, cake and no cookies.  I’ve come to the realization that I am happiest when I have some measure of baking in my routine.  Not necessarily every day (although really what’s wrong with fresh bread or brownies?), but regularly.  I need the flour and sugar and butter and vanilla and honey and chocolate and cinnamon.  No wonder I’m so cranky these days.

Happily, next weekend is the Parish School Carnival.  I run the cake walk, which means taking a whole day off from work to bake to my heart’s content.  Now comes the hard part – what to bake?  There are so many things to choose from.

This is one I made last year (OK so sparky looks more like and aardvark – we had fun making it and we made our own fondant.  So there.)

Frankenweenie Sparky Cake

You can see the original at Sprinkle Bakes and yes, of course, it looks waaay better than mine.

This year I don’t think I have time to play with fondant and gumpaste (we’ll see).  So for now the short  list is:

  • Red Velvet Cake
  • Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake (yes, the one right on the box of Hershey’s cocoa)
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie – probably 4
  • Snickerdoodle Cake (I don’t care that it starts with a box cake mix – everyone loves it)
  • Caramel Cake
  • Italian Cream Cake

So that’s what I’m thinking.  I’ve got a little time to finalize things.  But for now, I get to pour over cookbooks and just thinking about it has me thrilled.

Leave a Reply

