Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Pondering Chai

on August 13, 2013
masala chai

masala chai (Photo credit: Premshree Pillai)

The other day I was having a discussion with a blog acquaintance (I think that’s so cool) and a couple other commenters on his site that started off about sweetening his coffee and then meandered around to chai.  Initially he was having some fun pointing out his Truvia sweetener – others chimed in to try honey; he brought up splenda; I mentioned that I didn’t like Truvia due to it’s licorice-ish flavor and smell (blech!).  So then we got to talking about tea and the lovely things you can use to sweeten tea (this is where I shamelessly plug the Savannah Bee Company and their amazing Tea Honey and Winter White Honey).  Did I mention that I can (do) eat this stuff by the spoonful? No?  Well then we can just move along.

Anyhoo, eventually we got around to the discussion to Chai.  Now I’m kind of funny about Chai because I’m kind of funny about certain spices (anise, nutmeg, allspice).  OK, I’m not actually funny about them – I HATE THEM.  Mere whiffs make me want to cry – especially the nutmeg.  But I digress.  So, my blog friend points out that he had wildly diverging reactions to the Chai – from excellent to basically worm-fodder.  I maintained that it probably had something to do with both the spices used and the ratios of the spices used and that he might try making some himself.

And this got me thinking that maybe I could try making some using the stuff I like and eliminating the stuff I don’t.  So this evening I was wandering around the ‘net looking for some basic info – are there certain MUST HAVE spices (or it’s not Chai), or is more fluid? Imagine my delight to realize that NONE of the SPICES OF DARKNESS are actually authentic to Chai according to Chai-tea.org (you can see for yourself if you don’t believe me).  I think I’m definitely going to try some of the recipes and maybe use a little Turbinado sugar for extra depth of flavor. I can’t wait to share.


Leave a Reply

