Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

Baking Bread

on June 11, 2013

WP_000066

There is something very therapeutic about baking bread.  That toasty, yeasty smell wafting through the house.  When I was first married I used to make bread as stress relief. I would take out my frustrations kneading the dough by hand.  Plop it in loaf pans to rise.  Wait impatiently while it baked in the oven.  This was not fancy artisan bread.  Just plain white sandwich bread from the Betty Crocker Cookbook.  Once I forgot to add the salt and it was horrible.  Several times I over-proofed the yeast.  But the process always brought me a sense of comfort.

This recipe I’m using is virtually fool-proof.  There’s no kneading, proofing, complicated risings.  Everything (all 4 ingredients) gets mixed together; sits for a couple hours; then into the refrigerator.  When you want bread, you hack off a chunk of dough and form it into a ball.  Let it rest for about 90 minutes, then into the oven for half an hour.  I like the bread a lot.  It tastes great and it means we can have a fresh, crusty loaf pretty much whenever we want.  I miss the process though. Must be a sign of progress or something.

For the recipe, go to http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/2010/02/09/back-to-basics-tips-and-techniques-to-create-a-great-loaf-in-5-minutes-a-day#more-1616


Leave a Reply

