Wannabe Martha

Still trying to figure out which Martha

I Don’t Know How to Clean My House

on June 5, 2013

I’ve come to the realization that I really don’t know how to clean my house.  Oh, I know the mechanics of using a vacuum cleaner and a duster and a mop, etc.  It’s more that I don’t have any sense of how to approach it as a process.    Which means that my house is never truly cleaned.  There might be a day where the living room is dusted and vacuumed.  But not the dining room. Or the bedroom. The ceiling fans might as well be on the moon for all the attention they get.  It’s an ongoing struggle.  I don’t know where to start and I don’t know how to start.  So I just ignore it until, well, I can’t.

Very occasionally I hire a super competent person to come in and clean the house from top to bottom.  I vow to  maintain the lovely level of cleanliness.  I don’t last the month.  This is frustrating to me.  I prefer organization and order.  I live in clutter and chaos.  And I telecommute, so there’s no escape.  It’s overwhelming.

So on Sunday I went to the local Barnes & Noble in search of some expert help (there are entire sections of the store devoted to cleaning and organizing – this does not make me feel better).  For $40 I can get Martha Stewart’s ginormous tome on all things housekeeping.  I found it entirely too scary and could not bring myself to buy it.  I think I need to work up to it.  I did however, find Cleaning Plain and Simple by Donna Smallin.  $17 and only 307 pages including Index.  This is much more my speed.

So, I bought it and I’m reading it and I’m now holding out hope that I might just figure out how to clean my house.  Or at least that’s my goal for June.  It’s good to have goals.

Leave a Reply

